The European Rohingya Council formed

Chittagong, Bangladesh: Rohingyas living in Europe gather and held a meeting (convention) on October 6-7, 2012 in Esbjerg, Denmark where the Rohingyas formed “European Rohingya Council (ERC), according to Mohamed Ibrahim, media, information and organization secretary of ERC.

Rohingyas from different European countries gather and meeting to formed ERC“The participated of meeting – Rohingyas- are living most of the European countries.”

“The delegates – Rohingyas- came up with various ideas and proposals and unanimously agreed to form a Europe-wide Rohingya organization in order to strive for the cause of Rohingya minority that is on the verge of extermination from the Arakan State, Burma.”

More than one hundred young generations with vision, passion, solidarity, hope, unity and perseverance finally decided to form an umbrella organization with the name of “The European Rohingya Council (ERC)”, according to ERC statement.

The Rohingyas from European countries agreed  to establish ERC with following objectives ;to seek permanent political & social solution to the problems faced by Rohingyas; to strive for the restoration of our citizenship in Burma; to work hand in hand with other Rohingya and non-rohingya organizations across theworld for the well-being of Rohingyas both in Arakan and around the world; to put pressure on the Burmese regime through European governments and NGOs to immediately cease the ongoing program of ethnic cleansing against the Rohingya minority; to bring criminals responsible for the recent genocide against the Rohingya to the international criminal court of justice, the statement stated.

European Rohingyas gather to held a meeting in Esbjerg, Denmark

Convention has elected Chairman, vice-Chairman, Secretary General, a council comprising 12 members, 8 secretariats and an advisory board for a one-year term.

Khairul Amin (Norway) is appointed Chairman, U Hla Tin (Denmark) is vice-Chairman, Zakaria Abdur Rahim (Denmark) is Secretary General and Zahedul Hauqe (Netherland) is Secretary General No. 2.

Leave a Reply